Ending Animal Testing Globally: Lush Prize 2017 Shortlist Revealed
Lush Prize 2017 Award.jpg

Launched in 2012 Lush Prize awards a whopping £330,000 to support the replacement of animal tests across the world.

The Lush Prize is a collaboration between the legendary cruelty free beauty company Lush and research organisation Ethical Consumer.  Since its inception the fund has given away £1.8 million and its aim is to completely eradicate animal experiments by funding projects working to put an end to animal research in toxicology (chemical testing).

The Prize covers several key areas: science, training, public awareness, lobbying and young researchers. Last year new prize categories for young researchers in Asia and the Americas were added, thanks to funding from Lush in North America, Japan, Hong Kong and South Korea.

This year, the prize will be awarded in a ceremony in London on Friday 10 November. Ethica Magazine is extremely proud to attend this prestigious event and we will be tweeting live, posting pictures on Instagram, and of course, revealing the winners, so make sure you follow us on social media!


The shortlist for the 2017 Lush Prize:



Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments


Beagle Freedom Project

Romanian Center for Alternative Methods (ROCAM)
University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine, Romania

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals India

Taiwan Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals

Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, Humane Society of the United States
Humane Society Legislative Fund, USA

EPAA Biologicals Project Team


Public Awareness

Pro Anima

Humane Research Australia


National Anti-Vivisection Society (NAVS)

VITA Animal Rights Center

BIC Study
South Korea


Beagle Rescue Network
South Korea

ONG Te Protejo

White Coat Waste Project



Prof Lindstedt / DC immunobiology group
Department of Immunotechnology, Lund University, Sweden

Dr Janny van den Eijnden-van Raaij. hDMT: human Organ and Disease Model Technologies

Kamel Mansouri (ScitoVation) and Richard Judson (US EPA/NCCT)

Dr David Roberts

Dr Lawrence Vernetti, UPDDI MPS Liver Group
University of Pittsburgh, USA

Professor Jennifer Lewis, Lewis bioprinting team
Harvard University, USA

Professor Emanuela Corsini
University of Milan, Italy



Biosolution Co Ltd
South Korea

Dr Teng-Jin Khoo
University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus, Malaysia

Creative Scientist, Inc.

Associate Professor Mary Bebawy
University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Dr Sreenivasa Ramaiahgari
National Institutes of Health, USA

Magnetic 3D Bioprinting



European Commission
Joint Research Centre, Italy

Prof Lisbeth Ehlert Knudsen
University of Copenhagen, Environmental Health, in vitro and human biomonitoring, Denmark

Dr Fawzy Elnady
Cairo University, Egypt

Dr Pilar Vinardell
University of Barcelona, Spain

Prof Stefan Przyborski
Durham University, UK

Prof Roland Grafström
Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Dr Hans Albert Braun
Virtual Physiology, Germany

The Human Toxicology Project Consortium

Young Researcher - Asia

Dr Guan-Yu Chen
National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Dr Jiabin Guo
Institute of Disease Control and Prevention, China

Dr Satoshi Koyama
Takasaki University of Health and Welfare, Japan

Yihui Ke
Guangzhou Chn-Alternative Biotechnology Co., Ltd., China

Dr Kenry
National University of Singapore


Young Researcher - Americas

Dr Ana Ribeiro
National Institute of Metrology Quality and Technology, Brazil

Renato Ivan de Ávila Marcelino
Federal University of Goiás, Brazil

Dr Carolina Andrade
Universidade Federal de Goiás, UFG, Brazil

Dr Kamel Mansouri
Scitovation, USA

Dr David Pamies
Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing, USA

Dr Zhen Ma
Syracuse University, USA

Carolina Motter Catarino
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Dr Natalia Sizochenko
Interdisciplinary Center for Nanotoxicity, USA

Dr Maria Gnarra
Columbia University Medical Center, USA


Young Researcher - Rest of the World

Outi Huttala
University of Tampere, Finland

Dr Dania Movia
Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Vanessa Kappings
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany

Dr Rebecca Payne
Newcastle University, UK

Susana Proença
Joint Research Centre, Italy

Anna Monzel
University of Luxembourg

Fatemeh Sharifi
Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Alzbeta Liskova
MatTek In Vitro Life Science Laboratories, Slovakia

Dr Nathalie Bock
Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Dr Priyanka Banerjee
Charite, Germany

Dr Sandra Heller
Ulm University, Germany